2016 Nobel Prize in Chemistry Awarded for Nano-Machines

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry was awarded to three scientists for their work in the creation of “nano-machines.” Jean-Pierre Sauvage of the University of Strasbourg, Sir Fraser Stoddart of Northwestern University, and Bernard Feringa of the University of Groningen. Sauvage demonstrated the ability to flexibly link molecules, Stoddart discovered how to make the molecules move, and Feringa determined how to power them. The combination of these discoveries resulted in molecular machines, nano in size, whose movements are controllable. These nano-machines can be used to perform specific tasks and are being explored for use in numerous fields including medicine, computing, and energy.

For more information about their exciting discoveries please visit the Nobel website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *